Day 290: Ethan Canin said that he wrote “The Accountant” (in the Palace Thief) because he wanted to write a story in which a pair of socks seemed important. Pick an ordinary object. Make it someone’s obsession. Write a story about the obsession.

The figure sneaked through the darkened halls, soft shoes on small feet that danced along the tiles. It stops every now and then, raising its head like a meerkat on the prairie, searching for any indication that the rightful inhabitants, for this place was not its own, were awake.

It continued on its journey, pausing by an open door here, a small cabinet there, constantly searching for something. It was determined, focused on its goal. Whenever a pale shaft of moonlight swept across the floor, the figure would glare towards the offending window before skulking around the patch of light.

It reached a wooden door and stopped. This was what it had been looking for. With the slightest creak, the figure stepped through the door and shook a small bat from its sleeve. “It’s time.” It said, glaring at the cold tableau before it before striking down with the weapon. “She’ll be the only one. And the best.”

***

“Who, in God’s green earth, cares enough about Barbie to club a collection into oblivion?”

The Idiot in Tin Foil

I know, I know. I’m slacking. But my aim is to be back on track by the year point. I think I can do it. Wish me luck, friends, Romans and countrymen!

2 thoughts on “Day 290: Ethan Canin said that he wrote “The Accountant” (in the Palace Thief) because he wanted to write a story in which a pair of socks seemed important. Pick an ordinary object. Make it someone’s obsession. Write a story about the obsession.

  1. Back when I was a normal-human-male and had lots of time, I used to play Magic the Gathering. It’s a super fun collectible card game…full of wizards and explosions and what have you. The value of the older cards vary, depending on the “perceived” value. So as people who started playing when they were kids (like me) grow up and then have kids (also like me) they begin flooding the marketplace with dragon horde level card collections.

    What’s the point of this comment? Well. *Corey looks around* I keep seeing collections of MTG cards floating around on ebay and other places for a fair price. In my head, I’ve been imagining myself buying them then setting them ablaze to reduce the number of cards out there. This story tapped into pyro in me, and for that — I salute you!

    (Oh, and good luck.)

    Liked by 1 person

You know you want to talk to me. Do it here!

