Day 278: Write an anonymous letter to a stranger detailing the things you’ve learned about life.

pexels-photo-94327.jpeg

Hello,

You don’t know me and you probably don’t want to. I’m nothing. I’m nobody. I’m a disappointment and a loser and waste of space. But I know things. Things that you should learn before you go down the same route.

Now, I know you’ve found this in your jacket pocket. You’ve opened it, bleary-eyed and thought ‘What’s this?’ It’s your salvation. You found this while you looked for your keys. Your phone light was blinking, and you struggled to find the keyhole, am I right? You’ve thrown the whole bundle from your pocket, this letter included, onto the worktop.

I’ve made mistakes. You don’t have to. A man told me once, a long time ago, that I had choices to make. Choices that would affect everything I’d ever stood for. I ignored him.

You shouldn’t. Listen to me now and save your future.

You’ve got to step away from the booze. That’s step one. You’ve let it take over your life and it will. ‘But it’s just a couple before I head home.’

‘It’s one for the road.’

What you don’t realise is that you say that after six. Seven. By number eight you’re slurring. It’s been four hours. People are waiting for you but you just have that one last drink.

Trust me on this one. You need to break away.

This is the first note. There will be more to come.

Yours, in hope,

A friend.

The Idiot in Tin Foil

One thought on “Day 278: Write an anonymous letter to a stranger detailing the things you’ve learned about life.

  1. I really loved it, more so because it doesn’t come from this all-knowing place, not from the kind of people who are wise because being wise is kindof their thing. You can see it’s from someone who is almost repentant, who knows better only because he has done worse before. And it is, for me at least, such a refreshing change from all-knowing mentors who stand on some sort of pedestal and make it hard to relate to them. And it seems you did all that so effortlessly too, amazing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

You know you want to talk to me. Do it here!

