Illness and other things

In the Army Cadets, there was an instructor once. He had a habit of, while instructing, making long lists to encompass everything he was saying. He’d say the first few items, then it would be “And on top of that…” and he’d continue.

“And on top of that.”

That’s how I’m feeling at the moment.

On Friday night, I was working a late shift when I was struck by a horrible cold. My nose starting streaming, my head started pounding, etc etc.

On top of that, I find myself still working late into the night, not getting home until about four in the morning.

On top of that, I am in a writing competition this week, given eight days to write an original short story of no more than 2500 words around a central subject and given a pivotal character that must be included.

On top of that, I’ve then had to work further late shifts with my head and nose trying to explode.

On top of that, the bicycle I use to get to work has apparently given up the ghost, with the rear tyre choosing to deflate halfway home and having to walk the rest of the way.

On top of that, it was 3 below freezing.

On top of that, I got woken up early.

Now, I know this appears to be a growing list of excuses, which it is, but I just wanted to let people know that there’s a reason my posting hasn’t been quite as prolific. Normal service resumes soon!

The Idiot in Tin Foil

One thought on “Illness and other things

You know you want to talk to me. Do it here!

