Day 262: You’re in the interview stage of the Miss America pageant. Apart from your desire for world peace, what will you tell the judges?

More world peace.

I’m joking! Me, I want to be taken seriously. I want people to realise I’ve got two doctorates. To understand that I’m a leading researcher in my field that just happens to be an attractive young woman.

I’m serious. Were I an elderly man, nobody would bat an eyelid as I wandered the corridors at the Institute. But instead, I am subject to catcalls and hollers. I leave a trail of slack jaws in my wake, which is empowering to say the least, but it comes with an association of guilt. That I am betraying my gender.

So no, what I want is to be taken seriously, no matter how I look. It shouldn’t matter if I’m a pageant queen, or if I only had one leg and a lazy eye. I deserve the same as everybody else and everybody else deserves that same chance.

But also more world peace. Everybody needs some more of that.

The Idiot in Tin Foil

You know you want to talk to me. Do it here!

