Day 244: Set your alarm for 3 a.m., wake up, and write the first thing that comes to mind.

pexels-photo (8).jpg

Three o’clock will always be a strange time. It is viewed in one of three ways.

  1. You’re coming in from something. A long drive to visit someone, or a trip away with work. Either way, you are the triumphant warrior, the prodigal son. You have completed your travels and as such return to celebrate your triumph or to commiserate your failings. Either way, three o’clock is the harbinger of sleep, of dreams. Perhaps you are returning from a night of debauchery and entertainment with friends, or returning home from a holiday with your children sleeping peacefully in the back seat of your car. You get back and your sheets welcome you, inviting you to slip between them and drift into rest.
  2. You are leaving for something. Something distant and exciting, something you must travel some distance for. Perhaps it is work, something different from the norm. Perhaps it is a holiday, a treat, a surprise. It can be good or bad, but three o’clock still holds promise. It is excitement, even work, as much as you may disagree with this point when you first encounter it.
  3. Finally, three o’clock is the realm of the insomniac. The man who lays his head against his pillow and finds no respite from the day, simply an acute awareness of the ticking clock. He will observe the flow of time, feel it wash over him and through him, with the occasional check of a phone or a watch to anchor the reality of his situation. Though he knows that outside it is darkness, he cannot find his way into the grips of Morpheus and remains restless and awake.

I suppose it could be said that there is a fourth option. The man who has encountered three o’clock through the urgings of a book, compelling him to set his alarm for this most ungodly of hours and write down whatever thoughts flow from his mind. I must confess, the above is the second thing that came to mind.

The first was quite simple, yet unnecessarily complex in it’s expletives. I have removed them so as not to offend, though three o’clock, it would appear, can work wonders on the imagination when it comes to inventive language.

“Why am I awake?”

So, this isn’t as bad as it first appears. Following my arrival at my hotel earlier, I climbed into bed for a small nap. Four and a half hours later, I awoke. At this point, I decided that this would be the perfect opportunity to write this challenge. Now, if you don’t mind, I will be returning to my dreams. 

My third thought, following my waking up, has given me some ideas though. Hopefully, these will come to fruition in future posts. Stay tuned!

The Idiot in Tin Foil

3 thoughts on “Day 244: Set your alarm for 3 a.m., wake up, and write the first thing that comes to mind.

  1. I have been known to wake up in the middle of the night with a freshly minted dream/idea floating in my head, forcing me to get up and scribble it down sloppily by the light of my cell phone. My wife always gives me the same “wtf are you doing” look.

    Liked by 1 person

You know you want to talk to me. Do it here!

