Day 157: Your favourite moment in film

There’s only one moment that can even consider itself my favourite moment in film.

‘Hello. My name is Inigo Montoya. You killed my father. Prepare to die.’ The fight on the cliffs of insanity. The various times throughout the film where that phrase is used to cutting effect. And without a doubt, we fin ourselves rooting for Inigo. There is no quarter for the six fingered man to run to, only the depths of his villainy await.

That, my friends is my favourite moment in film.

This line has always worked for me, invoking feelings that I wasn’t even sure that I had. It pushed and pulled against the classic father figure role, leaving an emotionally scarred but truly whole character waiting in its midst. 

This is always tricky, but I hope today’s short introduction to my mind can help explain some things. 

Sweet dreams all. Enjoy. 

The Idiot in Tin Foil

2 thoughts on “Day 157: Your favourite moment in film

  1. I’m over here pulling my brain to pieces thinking. Perhaps it’s because it’s 2 a.m. here, but I am pulling a solid blank. Because Jenn mentioned Han Solo, that triggered Harrison Ford, which then bounced me to Indiana Jones…eh…I’m gonna sleep on it.

    Liked by 1 person

You know you want to talk to me. Do it here!

