Day 149: The oldest item in your possession

clock-pocket-watch-gold-valuable-39817.jpeg

Grandfather’s watch. It sits on his old desk, a brass ship in a sea of mahogany, but it’s mine. I know it is, because he sat me down in the cracked leather of the armchair and said ‘Timothy, one day this’ll be yours. But you gotta be careful, eh lad. It’ll get the better of you, unless you catch it quick.’

I didn’t know what he meant back then. Now I do.

Now I know the power of that goddamn watch.

Just a short one today. A snapshot of a much larger story. Things are a little hectic and my brain is full of empty space where I need ideas for a political satire story. Any ideas you’ve got for that, I’m all ears.

The Idiot in Tin Foil 

2 thoughts on “Day 149: The oldest item in your possession

  1. How about one of these for satire:
    1. An infamous politician reveals his Reptillian identity
    2. An inanimate object winning the highest office in a nation
    3. A third party manages to win an election, and has no idea how to run the country

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This looks like it would be a nice back cover book blurb. I know if I liked the cover and flipped the book over and read this, I would probably want to read the book. Lot’s of potential.

    If was going to try to generate a political satire short story, I would watch Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas. Hunter S. Thompson and his “gonzo journalism” was one of the reasons I became a journalist when I was younger, my experience was far different than his though (which is probably a good thing).

    Liked by 2 people

You know you want to talk to me. Do it here!

