Day 114: Honesty

black-and-white-city-man-people.jpg

They always told me that honesty was the best policy. And I believed them. I believed them wholeheartedly.

Then honesty started getting me into trouble.

‘Do you think this dress makes me look fat?’ She’d asked me.

‘Yeah, a little bit.’ I had replied.She didn’t speak to me for four days and she punched me in the jaw.

‘Hey, maybe I should ask Jessica out?’ David had said, hopefully.

‘You’ve got more chance of pissing whiskey.’ And David went off in a huff.

Honestly, I don’t get honesty. Without the little lies that make the world go around, what would we be? I’m starting to think that’s humanity’s true tell of evolution. We evolved the ability to lie.

What would the world be like if everybody had to tell the truth? No little white lies, no whoppers. Just the truth, plain and harsh.

I think honesty would cause more death and destruction than anything else. Honest politicians, honest spouses… You’d say what you really felt, because you didn’t have a choice.

Honesty without limits. Honesty gone wild.

I hope to see it one day.

The Idiot in Tin Foil

4 thoughts on “Day 114: Honesty

  1. “Honestly, I don’t get honesty.” A powerful and very true statement. I couldn’t agree more. Whether this is you speaking through a character, or how you actually feel, it resonates with me.

    On this side of the pond, we are having our Presidential nonsense being streamed non-stop on television. The underlying theme is, “No one is honest so good luck choosing.” It’s interesting how we just accept the concept everyone is lying to us. It’s hardwired right into our brains. We just assume pretty much everyone and everything around us trying to herd us into thinking one way or the other. It’s a subtle dishonestly we all accept as a norm.

    Great post today! As always, it got me thinking.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Glad you enjoyed it! It does always seem to be that with politicians it’s a case of ‘which lie will get me elected’ rather than ‘what am I actually going to do?’. But hey, I’ll stick to writing. Leave politics to the politicians and change the world in my own way.

      Liked by 1 person

You know you want to talk to me. Do it here!

