Day 80: What you would run out of the house with if your house caught fire

This is going to sound ridiculous, but my laptop. I mean, after the obvious, so parents, siblings, pets, spouses, etc (Not in that order, or someone’s getting upset.) But assuming it’s just me in the house, I’d grab my laptop bag.

Now, that’s not because my laptop bag has, at any given time, my passport, my chargers for various electronic items, usually a bag of sweets or something, but it has my laptop. My laptop is a connection to a world that I had. If anything, it maintains the connection to the world that I used to know.

My friends are scattered. All over the country, all over the world in some cases. And using my laptop, I get to see them. I get to talk to them, find out what they’re up to. I get to stay a part of it, even though I’m not there.

I know many people who’d choose a photo, or a teddy bear. And I respect their choice. But for me, I need the connection. I need to be a part of it. Who knows what I’d be like if that went away?

Just a short one today. Absolutely full of cold. Blergh. 

The Idiot in Tin Foil

You know you want to talk to me. Do it here!

