Day 45: Write a letter to a reader of a novel you haven’t written yet.

Dear Stanley,

First of all, thank you for your correspondence. It’s nice to know that someone appreciates my work, even though I’m still in the relatively obscure regions of writing currently. But it is only through the work of people such as yourself that I can become better known.

To address your first point, my inspiration comes from a number of places. The interactions of the people around me, the fact that I got hit by a specific leaf, the tirade of foul language that I create when I get cut up at a roundabout. Inspiration comes from everywhere, though harnessing said inspiration is difficult. I have had many ideas that burnt out almost immediately. An inspiration firework, I suppose you might call it. It shoots off, big and loud and exciting and then it’s over. Just like that, it’s gone.

But then there are the slow flames. An overheard conversation, a news article in the paper, something that just sets the pilot light going in the boiler of your mind. Then your mind becomes a melting pot and thus arrives The Idea. Capitals fully justified. It is a solid, concrete thing, not fast and fleeting like the fireworks from before. That is inspiration for you.

Now, on to point two. Will there be a sequel? That is an excellent question and one that I absolutely can’t answer yet. I’d love to revisit Mulligan and see how he’s getting on, but I figure that to start with I’ll just let him sort out the mess from the first one without my interference. Besides, I have a number of other projects in the works at the moment and if I do go back to that world I’d get lost there. Honestly, when you start writing a landscape it’s as if you’ve gone through the wardrobe. Then your wife comes and tells you that it’s time for dinner and you realise that everything you meant to do that day has just been ignored. Oops!

Yes, by the way, to your third point. I’m doing a signing tour around the south coast in July. I’m actually going to be visiting Bournemouth on the 20th, so bring in a copy of Fracture and hopefully we can have a decent chinwag!

I have the honour to be your obedient servant,

Oscar Bunting

P.S. Keep writing. That is the way forward. Don’t stop for anything. Don’t let the fear of things going wrong stop you. Somebody will enjoy what you write. So keep writing.

The Idiot in Tin Foil

You know you want to talk to me. Do it here!

