Day 31: What happened that night?

Well, it’s a whole month. WordPress even included a happy anniversary notification for me. Yay! I hope that those of you who are reading this are enjoying it. Let me know!

When my time comes, as it may… No, as it must. But when that time comes, whether I am a soldier in a distant field, or some disease decides to claim me, even if I suffer from a fateful hand in the game of genetics, I will look upon Death. I will see him. He will ask me if I am ready to go. He will ask me if I did everything I ever wanted.
I want to be able to make sure I said yes. I want to look into the distant supernovae resting in his eye sockets and tell him that I did. That I am ready.
I think I can.

The figure in the cowl looked at the words, hurriedly scrawled onto the page, partially obscured by the woman’s body slumped over the desk. Thin velvet gloves covered the frail arms and a small amount of drool had pooled below her painted lips. It appeared that she had dressed for the occasion, her best dress, shimmering in the firelight against her fragile frame.

‘Ah.’ The figure said. ‘I’m sure that I’m not supposed to feel. But it’s so sad.’ He wipes away a tear with his slender, piano player’s fingers.

‘Sorry, but… What’s going on?’ A translucent shape from the corner asked. ‘I mean… I can guess most of it. Some things are a little hazy though. I was writing… ’ The shape, forming harder edges now into the shape of a young woman. ‘Oh.’

‘I’m so sorry about this.’ The figure fumbled with the scythe in his hands, wincing as it fell to the ground with a loud crash.

‘That’s alright. Take all the time you need.’ She floated across to her corpse, prodding gingerly toward the place her soul had resided minutes prior to this moment. You know, you’re a lot fleshier than I was expecting. You knew to this? What happened to the… bony one?’

‘He had to make a tough decision. He took someone very dear to a lot of people, including himself.’ The figure looked at the scythe. ‘I think I’m supposed to…’ A weak gesture to the thin string connecting the soul and the body.

‘Ah. Always tricky, learning the new skill set on a new job. I remember when I started at Murbank… They has some stupid computer systems. Anyway, carry on. You can do it. Nice strong grip, I assume?’ The scythe flickered in the weak firelight. The figure hefted the scythe, cutting cleanly through the fine tether. ‘See! That wasn’t so hard! Now, I won’t ask anything too difficult. First day jitters and all that.’ The translucent woman, now young and classically beautiful, turned away. ‘You know, I don’t think I ever looked like this. I guess it’s all in our heads at the end. Well, whatever passes for my head now that… All this happened.’ She walked off, through the wall and away.

‘Life is so much easier when I’m not doing this shit.’ The figure muttered to himself. It shook of the cowl, letting it fall to the floor.

The figure… That’s me.

My name is Edgar Joshua Jonah Hunter. This was my first night as the Grim Reaper, as Death himself.

Kids, this is what happens when you are desperate for a job. Stay in school.

The Idiot in Tin Foil

You know you want to talk to me. Do it here!

